OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

September 2, 2015

The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor State Capitol

Sacramento, CA 95814

Attention: Tom Dyer

Re: CACEO Support of AB 547

Dear Governor Brown;

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB547. This bill fine tunes last year's AB1873 which was San Diego's pilot to conduct special vacancy congressional or state legislative contests by mail/"vote centers". These elections are unanticipated, unbudgeted, pose a heavy fiscal burden on counties and voter participation is low.

By allowing all congressional and State legislative districts to be conducted under this alternative election format and adding other eligible entities, the County of San Diego will be able to provide a more comprehensive report to determine the impact on voter participation and the cost of elections.

We feel that the inclusion of cities, school districts and special districts in the pilot will provide better data in analyzing the impact of alternative voting options in California.

We urge you to sign AB 547. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Gonzalez, Author Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee